Wood and Burlap

Two of my new favorite things to craft with! A friend gave me two wood pallets a few months ago.I’ve been inspired to reclaim each piece of wood and turn into something useful.  I have made over a dozen crosses using the wood,chalk paint and vintage hardware{ excited to show them at the Handcrafted Market at Mission Hills Church in November}

With the last pieces of wood I have created some signs and I just love how they have turned out! {So I thought I would share the process with you}

burlap sign

Here’s what you’ll need:

a wooden board approx. 1X6X18 ,paint { one color for the board and one color for the stencil}, foam brush, stencil, burlap, decorative nails, mod podge

1) Begin by painting your board..I used Annie Sloan Chalk paint in Linen

2) Cut a piece of burlap to fit your board..I pulled some strings from the perimeter to create a fringe look

3) Mod Podge your board where the burlap will lay and then lay the burlap on top and press carefully to adhere the burlap.

4) Let the burlap dry completely

5) Now you are ready to Stencil…I used black arcylic paint and Martha Stewart Stencils {available at Michaels}…I suggest you layout the letters and center them on your board first.

6) Last step…use decorative nails on each of the 4 corners { I think this really gives it a finished look!}

This is a really great project if you don’t feel particularly “crafty”. In a few hours you have a finished project you will love!

Happy Crafting!

2 thoughts on “Wood and Burlap

Leave a Reply

