Come Away With Me!

I try {fairly often} to find ways to retreat with Jesus in the midst of everyday demands. I have a favorite chair that I run too but sometimes I just need to get out of the house and completely away from the distractions that keep me from giving him 100% of my attention. Yesterday was such a day! So……  I headed to the coast in the afternoon for a few hours of solitude. The beach is a place for me to completely relax, listen to the sounds of waves crashing and feel the sun sinking into my skin and most importantly to read God’s word, to talk to Him and to listen…listen to His Spirit and receive all that He has for me when I am able to be still….to empty myself of everything that is me-centric and enjoy relationship with Him!

photo 1photo 2

He had been calling me to this place for days…..Come away with me His spirit whispered…you have a lot on your mind…sit with me….I will order your thoughts…..I will direct your steps…..I will whisper my love for you…I will refresh you! I was anxious to get to the beach yesterday and there were things getting in the way but I pressed through them.

The first thing I read was an Oswald Chambers devotion…..When God gets us alone through suffering,heartbreak,temptation,disappointment,sickness or by thwarted desires,a broken friendship,or a new friendship–when He gets us absolutely alone, and we are totally speechless, unable to ask even one question, then He begins to teach us. Notice Jesus’s training of the 12, it was His disciples that were confused not the crowd outside. They constantly asked questions and He constantly explained things but they didn’t understand until they received the Holy Spirit. As your journey with God, the only think He intends to be clear is the way He deals with your soul. The sorrows and difficulties in the lives of others will be absolutely confusing to you. We think we understand another person’s struggle until God reveals the same shortcomings in our lives. There are vast areas of stubbornness and ignorance the Holy Spirit has to reveal in each of us,but it can only be done when Jesus gets us alone. Are you alone with Him now? Or are you more concerned with your own ideas, friendships and cares for your body? Jesus cannot teach us anything until we quiet all our intellectual questions and get alone.

I soaked in these words and felt them permeate to the deepest part of my soul….not only had He called me to this place but He also had prepared me ahead of time {through several conversations, an email communication and a very encouraging new friend} the things that I thought were keeping me from my time with Him earlier in the day…they were actually preparing me}!

It’s winter…and it was 75 degrees at the beach…that in itself was a gift from Him…He knows what delights my soul and in the hours I spent with Him He was clear…..He loves me…..He cares about the things on my heart and He will continue to direct my steps. When I allow Him…He gives me eyes to see His hand in my life and He gives me understanding about the things I struggle with. Yesterday He gave me courage and He made clear what is His work and what is mine. I am enjoying His peace, even {or should I say especially} in the midst of some very challenging circumstances. He’s given me His perspective…which makes walking through this world a joyful experience!

Is He longing to spend time with you? Are you longing to spend time with Him? Do you need refreshing, understanding, healing or encouragement?

My prayer for you is that you find some time..maybe today…that you quiet your soul and empty yourself before Him…{I always used to be afraid of this} afraid that He would reveal something I didn’t want to know! What I have learned is that I will miss what He has for me if I ignore His call to come away with Him!

Leave a Reply

