Rejoice with those who rejoice……

Life’s journey is meant to be shared..to be lived out loud..in community.

God’s word tells us to “Rejoice with those who rejoice and mourn with those who mourn”

He created us to encourage one another, hold one another, love one another,stand in the gap for one another and pray for one another!

One of the most amazing privileges I have had as a wife,mom,friend, daughter…is to lift those I love in prayer.

14 years ago I connected with a group of praying moms..with the intention of praying together for our kids & their schools.

The group changed year after year and some of my dearest friends are those moms that joined me in prayer when there were both challenges and joys!

Most of our kids are adults now…some finishing High School…some graduating from college… some getting married and starting families of their own.

My eyes have seen God’s loving mercy and grace in the lives of all of our kids.We have treaded through heart wrenching circumstances and found Him to be so very faithful!

I am struck this week in particular as we celebrate Courtney { daughter of my dear friend Dawn} and her accomplishments at Point Loma Nazarene University.God has given her amazing musical talent and at the same time given her a passion for medicine{This girl is going to be a Neurosurgeon!}

As I watched her give her Senior recital last night I was struck by the passion and care that she showed as her hands danced across the keys….Her expressions indicated something deep within her heart……Not just a passion for music or her desire to play {perfectly} well…

What I saw was a young woman who loves the God of Abraham.Isaac and Jacob

A young woman that has a deep desire to honor God with the gifts He has given her and to love people like He does!

I see a girl with a tender heart …one that is open to His molding and transforming power!

I saw God’s Glory in this beautiful young woman

I saw God’s faithfulness to her over her lifetime

And I saw someone that has been bathed in prayer

I am reminded of a scripture that I have prayed for her many times

as I have for my own kids

Colossians 1:9-12

9 So we have not stopped praying for you since we first heard about you. We ask God to give you complete knowledge of his will and to give you spiritual wisdom and understanding. 10 Then the way you live will always honor and please the Lord, and your lives will produce every kind of good fruit. All the while, you will grow as you learn to know God better and better.

11 We also pray that you will be strengthened with all his glorious power so you will have all the endurance and patience you need. May you be filled with joy,[a] 12 always thanking the Father. He has enabled you to share in the inheritance that belongs to his people, who live in the light.

To God be the Glory…great things He has done!

court

 

Leave a Reply

