Good Ole Summertime!

I must confess…I think I live in a perpetual summer mindset…surrounded by the pacific ocean….where endless shades of orange and pink meet in the afternoon sky to declare the days end and each day is a new masterpiece! I am content in the place that He has planted me and I look forward to seeing what each new dawn holds. Even {or should i say especially} in the challenges I am acutely aware that He holds me in the palm of His hand..and so I know that whatever the day brings… it is part of His plan! I don’t have a desire to escape from or to anything and my deepest desire is to lean into His love and grace! 

colors

Now…insert that crazy,chaos sound..you know….. the one in the score of the movie that comes just before something goes wrong and everything changes!!!

I recently found myself there….from  0 to…..well somewhere between doubt and insecurity…stuck in my own head…where there is little room for my thoughts and His thoughts…and mine take over! You’ve probably never been there!!

When this happens…I know that I need to head straight to my knees but somehow I allow my thoughts to hold my mind captive to {albeit true} but  {unhealthy} thoughts!

I know that the antidote is found in God’s word..that I must …according to

………..2 Corinthians 10:5 
We demolish arguments and every pretension that sets itself up against the knowledge of God, and we take captive every thought to make it obedient to Christ.

This can sometimes be a huge struggle for me…..when certain situations present themselves {You know what those are for you} ….the tape in my head that has been playing for years takes me straight to …..you aren’t good enough….you will never be good enough…..it doesn’t matter what you do or how you do it or how hard you try…The enemy knows that once he’s in my head…he has distracted me from the truth and from relying on the One that I {usually} draw strength and courage and from. In my case……. I have found that I have to do my best to limit  my exposure to what triggers these unhealthy thoughts! I can’t eliminate them completely…and as much as I would like to …I think God has used this in my life to keep me close to Him and always remind me that my worth is found in Him...that I {and we} are precious to Him…and His love for us is the most precious thing we can experience!

What do you do with those thoughts…the ones that hijack your mind and break your heart?

Once i’ve taken my thoughts captive to make them obedient to Christ….I also surround myself with amazing ,life-giving people…..and I am mindful of returning life-giving words of love and grace and encouragement!…I hope you are as blessed as I to have those types of people in your life!

 

2 thoughts on “Good Ole Summertime!

  1. Holly, thank you so much for these exceptional words of wisdom from our Father. I struggle with these thoughts and I know many other women do too. This thoughts are not from God and your words are uplifting & transforming. Thank you for sharing!

    1. You’re right Connie…I think most women struggle with this….and I am so grateful for our community of women that can be encouragers for one another! I am solo very grateful for authentic community!

Leave a Reply

